• As Seen On
  • travelandleisure
  • elitetravelers
  • forbes
  • robbreport
Leanna Kakambouras

Exceptional honeymoon that exceeded all expectations

My husband and I had always been set on visiting Thailand for our honeymoon. We travel frequently (domestic and internationally) but wanted some help in coordinating and navigating the country. We worked with Andy Carroll for several months leading up to our departure and really customized every piece of the honeymoon. Would highly recommend visiting Thailand and working with Exotic Voyages!

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Leanna Kakambouras

Melissa Ann Levy

12-Day Trip to Thailand

Evaneos connected as to a local travel expert to plan a customized trip to Thailand, and Exotic Voyages created a spectacular experience. Our hotel accommodations were incredible, our guides were friendly & knowledgeable, and having a private driver and car made the day-to-day more convenient. We had the perfect balance of free time and planned activities, and the activities (i.e., food tours, elephant farm, floating markets, etc) were all amazing! Our travel expert was very responsive while planning the trip and during the trip. I would recommend Exotic Voyages without reservation, and I will absolutely be using them again for a future trip.

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Melissa Ann LevyPhiladelphia, PA

Rakesh P

10 Day Indo-China Excursion

We just concluded a customized 10 day tour through Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. Mai Phuong with Exotic Voyages planned this amazing trip for us. This was our second trip to South east Asia with Exotic and Mai and they did not disappoint. As usual, Mai was extremely patient with us as we went through several iterations of a proposed itinerary and Mai helped us customize the schedule and activities to our specific needs.

The hotels, tours, adventures and the local guides were all great. The trip was hassle free. The drivers, tour guides and operators were always punctual and flexible enough to accommodate all our requests.

Exotic even arranged for a turn-key Visa for our family for all 3 countries. The added expense of this service was well worth it because of the expedient service and convenience, and I would highly recommend it. I recommend Exotic and will seek Mai and Exotic’s services for our next trip.

Thank you again for a great trip Mai!

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Rakesh PSacramento, California

Young Army Wife

10 days Customized Luxury and Adventure

We had the most amazing trip to Vietnam; music, art, river excursions, a cruise, city exploration, jungle trekking, and my favorite, beach time!! Hoa Tran is an excellent agent who customized our trip. She worked hard to fill all our wishes and my husband did not make it easy- he had some very specific requests. Hoa made everything seamless and was in constant contact to make sure we were happy. The hotels and food were great and our guides were kind and open to discussion. Learning about local people is the best part of any trip; our guides and Hoa were such a pleasure to get to know. I would definitely book with this company again.

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Young Army Wife

Rieny Vanvliet

Two Thumbs up to Exotic Voyages!

I’ve travelled to all seven continents both on a shoestring and on luxury trips and my recent vacation to Vietnam and Cambodia that was arranged by ( my now favorite) Travel Designer, Diep Nguyen, at Exotic Voyages by far exceeded my expectations. This was my first visit to Vietnam/Cambodia so the “must see” places were, needless to say part of the tour.

Diep however went to bat for us to make certain we experienced the best of the tourist spots during the busy season when we were traveling. She managed to get us one of the best rooms in the colonial section of the Metropole Hotel in Hanoi. She arranged a trip on Halong Bay that was far away from what is now an almost Disney World touristy area.

Similarly unique arrangements were made for a cooking class we took in Hoi An, that included a river boat trip and a USA experienced chef. The Bassac cruise up the Mekong Delta was another highlight and a trip that I would gladly extend to a few days rather than the single night we spent on board.

What made this trip exceptional however was that it was totally hassle free. Tour guides were always on time. Drivers were always waiting at airports. The one thing that will always stick out in my mind as exceptional service however is when our flight from Hoi An to Siem Reap in Cambodia was delayed by several hours. Not only were we immediately informed and drivers on both ends rescheduled but the hotel manager of the Jaya House River Park where we were staying in Siem Reap was informed and greeted us as we stepped out of the taxi at midnight and graciously invited us for a light meal and wine in the event we had not eaten. You can’t get more hassle free than that.

I sincerely thank Exotic Voyages and Diep Nguyen for organizing this memorable trip. I would recommend them to anyone.

Rieny
New York City

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Rieny VanvlietNew York City, New York

Stan R

Southeast Asia is perfect with Exotic Voyages!

We took a trip through Vietnam (Hanoi, Halong Bay, Hue/Hoi An), Cambodia (Siem Reap/Angkor Wat), and Thailand (Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phuket) with Exotic Voyages and we are so impressed with the promptness and organization of this company! Our E.V. travel agent was Mai Phuong. She was quick with the email responses and thorough with her suggested itinerary. We like to pack our days full of activities and she was able to line up all of those in the short time we had available.

Since we started the process over the summer, we had lots of time to do more of our own research and add things, change days/times for activities, and really fine-tune the trip. Mai Phuong never hesitated to jump right in and give suggestions or help us make everything fit. We took 5 internal flights on this trip and all of the transfers were perfectly coordinated without a glitch! We always had someone waiting to bring us to the hotel and and take us back to the airport, plus all the arranged guides were right on time each morning.

They give you a choice of tiers for hotel quality/price, and whichever tier you select, you can be sure they have given you the best choice of hotels in that class. The communication was impeccable and we had packages waiting for us at reception on arrival for pick up times, local info, etc.

This is our first time traveling with Exotic Voyages and we are thrilled with the excellent customer service and precision of our itinerary. We highly recommend this company and we would definitely use their services again! Thank you for a wonderful trip!

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Stan RLas Vegas, Nevada

bcarmony

Holiday Vietnam and Laos Tour

We began planning our holiday vacation for two couples to Vietnam and Laos with Exotic Voyages back in June. As frequent international travelers, we’ve worked with a variety of tour companies over the years. We found Exotic Voyages and their travel planners to be super responsive, clear and concise in correspondences, and flexible in planning the best activities given our time frames.

We included a couple of days in Hanoi, two nights in Ha Long Bay, two in Sapa and three days in Luang Prabang.

A few observations for those planning travel in similar cities/areas:

1. Laos and Luang Prabang was our favorite part of the trip. We had possibly our favorite guide of all-time, Latta Latda, who showed us so many great gems of her city and region. If you’re considering Laos, DEFINITELY add it to your itinerary. It is a much-needed relief to the hustle/bustle/honking/smells of Hanoi! Also, I think it’s probably the massage capital of SE Asia, with plentiful and excellent $6 massages (we got lots of these!). Also, great restaurants, amazing night market, great day activities, quality lodging and friendly locals. We’re already planning our trip back to Laos!

2. Ha Long Bay is stunning and a must-see for northern Vietnam. We did the Paradise Luxury cruise, which we’d highly recommend. It’s apparently the nicest boat with fewer than 20 cabins, so you get to know your fellow travelers as much or as little as you like. While a gorgeous area, be warned that this is a very busy place with lots of other cruise boats floating nearby. Also, there was more trash in the water than we expected. Hopefully Vietnam and UNESCO will work on this in the future and consider limiting the number of visitors or expanding the area a bit.

3. Sapa is another must-visit when in that part of the country. The terraced fields are breathtaking and there are lots of small villages to visit throughout the valley. We did a 10 mile hike through these villages where we got to see things close-up (and get some much-needed exercise!). The town is pretty touristy and busy and many of the roads are under major construction, so things can be muddy/dusty. The lodging was great. We stayed at Aira, which is walkable to everything downtown, yet far enough away from all the noise. Highly recommend.

4. We took the luxury night train to/from Sapa/Hanoi. It’s small, but comfortable, but there’s lots of shaking/banging, so bring some pills to help you get to sleep.

5. I’d say Hanoi was probably our least favorite part of the trip, but only because we’re into more quiet/relaxed experiences. Hanoi – much like Saigon – is a frantic city of scooters and honking. We visited the Mausoleum of Ho Chi Mihn and hit a couple of museums, but beyond that, there weren’t many things to do. Lots of little shops, interesting food and people-watching though. If planning a trip, I’d say 2 nights there is more than enough unless you’re into big crowds and noise.

Overall, this was definitely one of our favorite trips and Exotic Voyages made everything super easy. If you’re planning a trip to SE Asia, I’d definitely recommend using them!

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

bcarmonyChattanooga, Tennessee

Gregory S

Thailand wouldn’t have been the same without Exotic Voyages and Ly

As a frequent traveler, especially international, one would assume I would leverage TripAdvisor often to both read, comment and review. This however is not the case. It’s not that TripAdvisor isn’t a good source, but I am not always sure if the people reviewing have the same taste or experiences as I have so I am less likely to trust them, and I assume the same is true when it comes to my reviews. It is for this reason I mainly leave reviews when the experience was either out of this world or truly horrendous and truly warrants the time expenditure. I may change this opinion in the new year, but this review of Ly from Exotic Voyages continues the same premise.

The vacation we experienced in Thailand was not only absolute perfection, but it was so well organized that I believe anyone who books with her will achieve the same 5-star result. In this review, I will let you know how I found Ly and Exotic Voyages, the experience leading up to the vacation and some highlights of why choosing to book anywhere else is foolish.

First, I found Ly through the app provided by Evaneos.net. I had never really used a travel agent before, because probably like you, I believed there were enough resources to help me plan it and I enjoyed the planning process. Plus, when you want to set a budget for yourself, you are a bit leery of the cost you will incur with the use of a travel adviser. I picked Thailand on a recommendation from a colleague at work and being curious about new travel apps I plugged in some basic desired outcomes into an Evaneos survey. A few hours upon completing the survey I was put into contact with Ly. She asked me several questions about what I wanted to experience in Thailand and while I wasn’t still completely sold on going, my curiosity led me to outline some basics I thought might be fun I saw in a couple YouTube videos.

She returned a few days later with a 15-day private travel itinerary that not only fulfilled all my requests but added several unique experiences I hadn’t even considered. She and I had discussed at length on being able to experience life in Thailand and its unique culture, not just visit Instagram locations and she did not disappoint. To put how uniquely different this experience appeared, when Googling 15 day itineraries in Thailand, very few included half of what we were outlined to participate in. Over the next few weeks, Ly and I corresponded with each other as we added finishing touches to the vacation plan, mostly involving hotel selection and dinner plans, after which I submitted the deposit. Throughout this process she was always available, if I posted her a message, her response was either immediate or due to the time change, first thing in the morning her time. The only way to describe it, is that you have your own personal consultant.

As this was 8 months before I was set to travel, Ly and I didn’t communicate much again until the trip got closer. A week or so before the vacation, Ly sent me some helpful tips and let me know last minute logistical items. She also provided me some helpful emergency numbers and she and I exchanged WhatsApp contacts just in case. We departed the US and landed in Bangkok safely upon which the itinerary began. When I say the itinerary she planned was detailed, this is an understatement. She let me know when someone was going to meet me from the airline, she told me when I would have a guide or not, she even let me know minor details about the hotels such as what was nearby or what restaurant I should consider. She even helped me with friendly info about our guides. Upon arrival at the airport we were met by a representative who walked us personally through customs, picked up our bags and walked us to our car. We were transported to our hotel, which besides them giving away all their balcony rooms, was exactly as described, down to the breakfast.

The next morning, Ly gave us some jet lag recovery time upon which we were met by our tour guide to visit the palace. I would have added a trip to the national museum, as several of the locations we visited afterwards referenced that the originals were on displayed there, but that’s for another trip to Thailand. The following day we participated in a food tour on a recommendation from Ly. If curious about my review on that, search The Chili Paste Tour. This was something I wouldn’t have naturally selected for myself, but so glad we went, it was complete social immersion.

After two full days in Bangkok we were off to Sukhothai. The flight alone is worth taking from Bangkok to fly into Bangkok Airway’s private airport and zoo, yes airport and zoo. If you haven’t picked up your luggage right next to a Zebra you haven’t lived. We were met by our guide, Nunn, and our driver, Ka, who were to accompany us for the next 5 days. Ly and Exotic Voyages picked out absolute gems of people. They were not only friendly, but full of stories on life and culture. It was if they were picked out just for us. The hotel Ly picked for us in Sukothai was gorgeous and the Spa was amazing, another selection I wouldn’t have found on my own. As for the tours we participated in, Nunn led us through Sukhothai on bikes. She and Ka drove us to Chiang Mai with lots of stops along the road to interact with local people and food vendors, a trip to a temple in Lampang and lots of information on local farming practices. With both of their help we really felt like we learned Thailand.

Within Chiang Mai, Ly scheduled a full day with elephants, a special restaurant with multiple courses, found us an outstanding tailor to visit and an evening with the friendliest restaurateur. After our stay in the city before venturing to a beach stay, Ly encouraged us to stay at Khum Lanna. It was here that you feel part of the local culture and if I had known how magnificent this was, I would have suggested we extend for a couple more days. It is here that you learn about rice cultivation, local customs and food purchase and preparation all in a house that reminds you of Disney’s Swiss Family Robinson. When I retire, I want to be as happy and engaged with service as much as the proprietors of this establishment.

Finally, Ly gave us the beach and she did this through a jaunt to Koa Yao Noi. Here she picked the most fabulous of hotels. We had a pool villa along with direct access to the beach. Besides the fact that this place is geared towards Europeans who want a lounging tropical vacation, without having to forgo any of their western ways, this hotel is a marvelous getaway. My wife and I used the pool constantly, rented a scooter and traversed the island eating at a remote Italian restaurant, took a long boat at the wee hours of the morning out to Hong island and just let go of the clock. This was a great exclamation point on a stellar vacation.

This was the vacation that everyone talks about, but no one ever gets. It was stress free, it was the right balance of activity and leisure and it was beyond compare to any of my other once-in-a-lifetime vacations. Without Ly, I would not have had the relationships or experiences that I got and I thank Exotic Voyages for hiring people like her. Take my advice, if you are planning to go to Southeast Asia, don’t plan it yourself, get Exotic Voyages and Ly to take care of you. Trust me, they do. You won’t be disappointed.

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Gregory SSan Antonio, Texas

Rachel S

An Informative Day In Hanoi

I had a great time in Hanoi. Not only was I given the opportunity to see parts of the city, I visited various historic sites, walked through the streets and had Pho for lunch at a local restaurant. Trung, my guide, provided me with ample information about the modern city of Hanoi, as well as its rich history. It was a wonderful experience.

 

Visited Januaray 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Rachel S

Hefty

VIETNAM trip

Bui Chi was my agent.. She planned great rip for my family.. We visited Hoi An and Hoi Chi Minh City.. The hotels, tours and guides were all just what we wanted.. I highly recommend.

Visited January 2019

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

HeftyWellesley, Massachusetts