• As Seen On
  • travelandleisure
  • elitetravelers
  • forbes
  • robbreport
Chris T

Excellent Travel Agency for Indochina Itineraries

I have used Mai Phuong at EV to arrange two trips for me in SE Asia. The first was in March when she planned a two week itinerary in Northern Vietnam. In December we traveled to Laos and Northern Thailand. The planning for each was so easy and all done by email and Mai was prompt and responsive as she prepared and sent multiple iterations of an itinerary until we had one that exactly met our schedule and general travel goals. We had rough ideas of things we wanted to see and she was able to suggest a logical order of destinations and great excursions and tours that fit what we wanted out of the trip and suggest places and things to do that we had not even heard of in our trip research.

The deluxe hotels she booked were top notch and delivered the comfort level and luxury promised. All the private cars and drivers were safe and comfortable. And all the guides spoke English and were familiar with the areas they worked in.

I also liked that this agency also seems to make sure they book excursions that benefit the local people in the area. Eg. our hike in the Luang Prabang area was on a trail through village lands that weren’t open to the public but the agency made a special arrangement with a local village to escort us in village lands for the hike and which got us a glimpse of village life but also benefitted the local village.

Our guides were good and helpful and spoke English well.

Hi Especially conscientious and organized was our guide in Chang Mai, Aim. She spoke impeccable English and was a font of information about local restaurants, stores, local history and Thai culture. She was really organized and on top of all our excursions and transfers in the area and checked and confirmed everything.

If you are looking for a professional reliable agency that will create a great custom itinerary in Southeast Asia and take all the work of organizing the logistics so that you have not a worry from the moment you get off the plane until you enter security on your departure, I highly recommend Exotic Voyages and especially Mai Phuong in their Hanoi office.

Visited December 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Chris TSan Francisco, California

Gail S

18-Day Private Tour of Vietnam

While researching travel options to Vietnam, we learned of Exotic Voyages through a news article about an Anthony Bourdain inspired tour they had designed. We did not take that tour, but feel so fortunate that we found this company. Our daughter lives in Vietnam and told us “Just do it by yourself. Book everything when you get here.” In hind sight, we are so happy that we did not follow our daughter’s advice. While it’s possible, we are a couple that can be overwhelmed with too many choices. That’s not to say we didn’t get exactly what we asked for with Exotic Voyages. But, by working with Tran Thuy (Exotic Voyages Travel Designer), we put together a truly memorable 18-day, custom adventure that helped us to focus on fun – not details.

From our very first email exchange, to itinerary changes (initiated by us) with 3 days left in our tour, interactions with the Exotic Voyages team were prompt, professional, and spot-on. Thuy asked what we wanted to see and do, our activity levels, and rough price ranges for budgeting. With that information, we went through several iterations of itinerary changes and settled on the final plan.

At every step of our adventure, our guides spoke very good English, were informative and open to questions, punctual in the mornings and flexible throughout the days. We never felt rushed or pressured to keep moving. Transfers were smooth and accommodations were outstanding. I don’t know where to start regarding the food — included meals were delicious, substantial, and showcased specialties of the particular areas we were visiting.

It’s very difficult to say what we enjoyed most during our trip. From North to South (Sapa, Ha Long Bay, Hue, Hoi An, HCMC, Mekong Delta), Vietnam is a beautiful country that dazzled our senses. The people, the sights and the food were amazing.

Highlights of our tour included 3-day/2-night Era Cruise, Ms. Vy’s cooking class in Hoi An and in Ho Chi Minh City, the clay pot dinner and our evening motorbike food tour were lots of fun. And, of course, each of our guides throughout our trip made everything that much more informative and interesting.

One last acknowledgment to Yen Giang (Operations Manager). When we decided to change our itinerary at 6:00pm, with 3 days remaining in our tour, we sent a text message to Exotic Voyages with our request. With 30 minutes, Giang had every thing resolved and even managed to get us an upgraded room. Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding!

Overall, our only disappointment is that we are limited to a 5-star review. From our experience, Exotic Voyages is 10-stars all the way.

Date of experience: November 2018

Visited December 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Gail SPark City, Utah

Cassaundra Smith

Make your travel easy and book with Exotic Voyages

I recently came back from our 13/12 night trip to Thailand through Exotic Voyages and I could not be more pleased with this company. I chose the Thailand Sweet Honeymoon tour for, of course, my honeymoon. As this was my honeymoon, I wanted a memorable trip with no stress – great accommodations and fun activities. The two girls I worked with to plan my trip were amazing. From the beginning, communication with this company was stellar – always responding to all my questions (and I had A LOT) right away. I was nervous to land in Bangkok – wasn’t sure what to expect! But literally within 10 feet of walking out of the plane, our first guide was there to greet us and get us through customs. Such a relief! They planned everything for me and picked the best activities. The hotels we stayed at were 5 star. The transportation they had for us in country was spacious and all A/C equipped. They were SO accommodating when I wanted to customize the tour – they booked a reservation for me for dinner and planned transportation for that too. The guides they hire to use in Thailand were great – we loved our girls! So kind and helpful. Both went by the name “Aye”. The booked all my domestic (in-Thailand) flights and when I needed help booking another plane from Phuket to Bangkok, they took care of that for me. And if there were any issues or questions while we were in Thailand, all we had to do was call a number and someone would answer us within 5 mins, or I sent an email to my contact and it was resolved. We had a few billing questions while on our trip, but again, they were resolved right away when after I emailed my contact – so no issues there. And for anyone wondering, we were mainly by ourselves the entire time, minus the few tours we went out that were group activities (like the day trip to Flight of the Gibbon, The Elephant Nature Park, and the cooking class); we didn’t travel in a group of people though (that was a question I had in the beginning!) Overall, if you want a memorable vacation, that mixes in adventure with relaxing, book with Exotic Voyages. We found them affordable, attentive, and knowledgeable. Our first trip to Asia was a success thanks to this team. We can’t thank them all enough.

 

Visited December 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Cassaundra SmithUSA

Susmen

Great holiday in Vietnam!

Since a few days we are back from our three-week, varied, great holiday in Vietnam, which was planned and organized by Diep Nguyen of Exotic Voyages exactly according to our ideas. We were cycling a lot and especially the time in the north with our guide Kien and driver Cam was beautiful and very funny. The schedule of the booked excursions was always perfect and the partly booked catering exceeded our expectations by far. We also liked the booked hotels and the homestay very much. We are fully satisfied and can only recommend Exotic Voyages and Diep and her team.

 

Visited December 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

SusmenMunich, Germany

Charlene Feller

Exotic Voyages

My husband I just returned home from a spectacular 16-day tour of Thailand. (Nov.2018) Our stops were: Bangkok- 5 days, Chiang Rai- 3 days, Chiang Mai- 4 days, Phuket 4- days. Our private custom tour was handled by Thuy Tran of Exotic Voyages. She did an excellent job. The tour had so much variety and cultural experiences I could not begin to tell you here how wonderful it truly was!!

Thank to Thuy Tran of Exotic Voyages.

 

Visited December 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Charlene FellerLos Angeles, California

Lye Guy

SE Asia 6 Cities, 3 Countries – Outstanding Service!

Diep at Exotic Voyages managed our entire itinerary which included Saigon, Hoi An, Dong Hoi, Hanoi, Chiang Mai and Siem Reap. We communicated regularly via Skype in the weeks leading up to the trip and during the whole trip she was available via WhatsApp to answer questions or make changes as we needed them.

When we arrived in Saigon an Exotic Voyages rep met us the airport to expedite us through the visa process. Every one of the hotels Diep chose for us was outstanding with incredible decor, food and service. Even on the rare hiccup when there was a miscommunication or a local service had to cancel, Diep was there to smooth things over and recommend other activities – as well as quickly refund any money.

Highlights included a private cruise in Halong Bay, a Vespa Tour though Hanoi and being in Chiang Mai for the lantern festival. She even got us into a hard-to-get Elephant sanctuary in Chiang Mai at the last minute.

All of this and for 30% less what agencies in North America were quoting me. Trip of a lifetime! Would definitely enthusiastically use again and recommend to friends!

 

Visited November 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Lye GuySeattle, Washington

Wilhelm

Fantastic travel through Vietnam

We knew where we wanted to go but let Exotic Voyages book and organize everything so we should have the best possible quality without any waiting time … and we got it. Very good guides everywhere and cars waiting for us at every place. Vietnam is a fantastic place for a holiday trip. Incredible food, gentle people and hopefully you don’t crash into to many tourists. Our stops were Saigon, Con Dao, Hue, Hoi An, Halong Bay, Sapa and Hanoi in two weeks!

 

Visited November 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

WilhelmUSA

Jeffrey K

A Tribute to Anthony Bourdain: Taste of Vietnam

Anyone who knows of Anthony Bourdain knows of his enthusiasm for food and passion for discovering exotic tastes on his global travels. Exotic Voyages just launched a new tour that not only guides travelers through Vietnam but also specializes an exciting experience for adventurous foodies, including visits to some of the local eateries Bourdain had showcased on episodes of his multiple programs.

I’m writing this review as I’m living through the last few days of this very tour, and I’ve had a remarkable time with both the sights and tastes of this beautiful country. I’ve got to have the exact meal that Bourdain shared with former US President Barack Obama. This Hanoi establishment’s specialty was absolutely delicious and is highly recommended as a typical dish of the region. Then I’ve seen the contrasts of central and southern Vietnam, especially at a hole-in-the-wall kind of Saigon street stand, owned and run by a little but happy woman with a lot flavor in her cooking. And all the while, I’ve got to see and sometimes participate in or with the many different landscapes, the many kinds of people and their daily tasks, some of which were lessons on how things are made, and the many activities, some unique to the country.

Getting me to this point took a bit of planning, and I couldn’t have done it without the dedication and diligence of one Diep Nguyen, designer of the tour for Exotic Voyages. She has been with me from the beginning, customizing exactly the kind of fun trip I like while providing all the options one can add that make it extra memorable. Even as I was experiencing the trip, she was always reachable to make sure everything is running smoothly and that we have what we need. Though she’s not there in person all the time, our guides were there. And all of them were thorough experts of their regions, showing exactly how friendly Vietnamese people are.

All around, I will miss Vietnam for its hospitality and beauty as I take fond memories back home with me.

 

Visited November 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Jeffrey KAntioch, California

Christee B

Wonderful company, the best vacation we’ve had

Was an absolutely seamless vacation. Everything was as planned and on time. Our guides were just simply wonderful. The “downtime” was jut the right amount we saw things and had authentic experiences we treasure and will never forget. Our travel agent Thu Ha was simply the best!! Highly highly recommend this company

 

Visited November 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Christee BSan Francisco, California

MKReeder

Great Trip to Myanmar

We hired Exotic Voyages to organize our trip to Myanmar. Neither my wife nor I had been there, although we have a number of friends who have been.

We wanted to stay off the beaten path. Also, I do medium format, fine art photography so we asked for some special routing.

Thuy did a spectacular job of responding to our needs and developed a travel plan that was unique. It was just the two of us and three different guides to help us across many places in Myanmar. We went to Yangon, Kalaw, Heho, Inle Lake, Mandalay, and Bagan. Lots to see.

Our guides were fantastic. We had a great time.

We had not used Exotic before, but would definitely use them again! Nicely done.

 

Visited November 2018

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

MKReederSan Francisco, California