• As Seen On
  • travelandleisure
  • elitetravelers
  • forbes
  • robbreport
Jamie C

“Legends”

Ngoc, Psu and Tinh were absolute legends. Heroes. They made my trip around Vietnam 10x better. They were extremely knowledgable and were able to answer every question. Taking us out of the normal tourist packed areas around the real authentic Vietnam. Thank You exotic voyages for a wonderful trip.

Visited Sep 2017

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Jamie C

Lisa C

“Family trip to Vietnam”

We have just returned from a family trip to Vietnam. Our holiday was arranged by our travel agent in London and was run by Exotic Voyages in Vietnam.

From the moment we arrived in Hanoi, everything was fantastic.

Our guides were Ngoc in Hanoi, Phu in Hoi An and Tinh in Ho Chi Min city. They were all friendly, helpful and full of knowledge and they really made the holiday special.

We did lots of trips and felt extremely well looked after.

Thank you Exotic Voyages.

Visited Sep 2017

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Lisa C

Kaenhu

“Top quality, customized luxury tour”

I usually do all the work for our family vacations—I read the online research and reviews and book all the hotels and activities. But I had not kept up with Vietnam’s progress economically and based on my previous experience in Vietnam plus having to book domestic flights in Vietnam (which I knew nothing about) and just not having the time to do all the research, I decided this time to hire a travel agent to help me out.

My brief Google search landed me on the webpage for Exotic Voyages. Exotic Voyages specializes in customized luxury tours in Asia. They offer several ready-made packages but are willing and happy to take out anything their customers don’t and add in anything they desire. I inquired and was put in contact with Linh, who put together a Vietnam package based on their ready made “Family Fun in Vietnam” tour that was to go to Hanoi, Ha Long Bay, Hue, Hoi An, Saigon, and the MeKong Delta. She cut out a few activities to accommodate for our 12 days (versus 14 as dictated by the package) and also added a short trip to Chiang Mai in Thailand to visit an elephant sanctuary. We communicated frequently via email to customize the trip as she gave us quotes for a package with mostly 3 and 4 star hotels versus 4 and 5 star hotels (not much of a difference! Go with the higher star ratings!) and advised us as to what she thought would work best for us. We did not want to visit any places where tourists ride the elephants and we were concerned about one tour that involved riding a water buffalo. She kindly helped us work that out too (booked an elephant sanctuary and reassured us that water buffaloes have much stronger backs than elephants and can withstand much more weight on their backs). She also advised us to stay an extra day in Lang Co instead of spending a hectic day in Bangkok, because Bangkok really requires a few days to enjoy. This turned out to be excellent advice.

The communication was fantastic. She always wrote back within 24 hours and was patient and answered my questions. I was given numerous opportunities to check and double check the itinerary and was even given the names of all the hotels so I could check the out online. Once she got my approval on the final itinerary, she booked our hotels, tours and domestic flights. We were responsible for getting to Hanoi, the first city on our itinerary, and for getting out of Chiang Mai, the last stop. Once I got that information, I forwarded it to her along with our passport information and she was able to finalize everything.

I had a little trouble with getting our Vietnam e-visas and wrote to Linh in frustration and she gave me a link that worked a lot better than the one I had, plus she told me that their company could (for a fee) obtain our visas for us. I liked that she did not push me to spend money to have them get the visas for me, even though that would have generated more money for them.

Upon arrival to every city—Hanoi first, then Hue, then Saigon and finally Chiang Mai, we were met by the Exotic Voyages local tour guide. We were provided a comfortable air conditioned van with a separate driver and the tour guide accompanied us to almost all our tours and activities. Each van had a lot of water bottles for us, complimentary. This was highly appreciated, given the 44C (112F) heat index most days in Vietnam.

The hotels that Linh booked for us were fantastic—top quality in every way. The tours were also fun and enjoyable, top quality as well. Our drivers were safe and considerate, and our tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. Our Hanoi tour guide got our water puppet theater tickets for us and also booked xich lo tours for us, while our Saigon tour guide and driver went out of their way to help me find my family’s old house in Saigon. 

Our Saigon and Chiang Mai tour guides spoke excellent English. We were really impressed with how well they spoke. Our Hanoi and Hue guides spoke good English too, it was just that the others spoke really well.

All in all, I would highly recommend this travel agency for those who like to have everything done for them and who want a very easy relaxed vacation with little worries. Everything was done in a superb and with care to detail and customer service. Super organized and very professionally done.

 

Visited August 2017

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

KaenhuTexas, USA

Mathew T

“Memorable 15 Days Viet Nam’s trip from South to North”

We booked our trip through sale rep Linh Nguyen (Ha Noi). Ms. Nguyen was professional and well organized. She helped putting together a private tour for our group of 17 people. Hotels were 4 to 5 Stars and nice private transportation. Tour-guides were friendly, well spoken english and knowledge. Tour guides from each destination were wonderful. Specially our tour guide in Hanoi, Mr. Kien was friendly and knowledgable about Vietnam’s history. Exotic Voyages is highly recommended.

Visited August 2017

This review was originally posted on TripAdvisor

Mathew T

Leanne

“Excellent trip and travel company”

We have just returned from a fantastic trip to Myanmar and Thailand- all arranged by Exotic Voyages. Everything was smooth – right from our initial travel enquiry. Our travel agent was very helpful and gave so much advice so we could plan the trip we wanted. All went well on our holiday – excellent guides, drivers, pick up, hotels etc. Cannot fault the service. We will be using this company again next year. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Visited August 2017

This review was originally posted on Trip Advisor

LeanneCirencester

Barbara

“An Amazing Seven Weeks in SE Asia”

This trip of a lifetime was made perfect by Andy and Bui Ly of Exotic Voyages. I had a rough outline of places and sights we wanted to visit and see, but they put it all together and not one minute detail was forgotten. Every time we arrived in a new place, we were met by a guide and driver, starting in Myanmar with Jen, Nang Khin, Thinn Myo, and Son Mayo. Thanks also to Pong and Kee Lee in Thailand, Linn in Laos, Ky, Phu, Minh, and Tri in Vietnam, and Channak, Sophy and York in Cambodia.

Some of the many outstanding experiences were the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon, the picnic in the bamboo forest at Inle Lake, the sunrise balloon ride over Bagan, the cooking schools in Thailand, Hoi An and Hue in Vietnam, and of course the day as owner of an elephant in Chang Mai. Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom excursions were followed by a picnic and massage in a forest. Halong Bay and the Float House on the River Kwai were other exceptional experiences. All of our accommodations were exceptional, and we did in fact feel like VIP Ten Plus clients! The Jahan cruise on the Mekong, and the beach stays at Ngapali, Song Saa, and Phuket were delightful interludes during a very packed itinerary. We had many amazing meals, but the best was our experience at Raffles in Phnom Penh where we were served a five course meal which was out of this world.

Thanks again to Andy and Bui Ly, and particularly for taking the time on a Sunday to have coffee with Ellen and I in Hanoi. Truly, Exotic Voyages and their staff go above and beyond in many ways.

Visited March 2017

This review was originally posted on Trip Advisor

BarbaraCanada

Terry

“Professional and well organised”

Was introduced to this company by a friend. I had them organise my travel in Myanmar for my wife and myself. From the first email to the date we flew, communication was excellent. Their guides in every city were excellent. Punctual, spoke good English. Pick up / drop off at airports was seamless. Great knowledge of all the sites. Excellent value for money. I would recommend them without any hesitation. Linh was an outstanding agent. Thank you for a memorable visit to Myanmar.

Visited May 2017

This review was originally posted on Trip Advisor

TerryCanada

Tania L

“Stress free and amazing travel”

I traveled with my family and we had a great vacation. Everything went as planned, they did a great selection of places to stay, eat, tours and places. It took a lot of stress from planning and running, that we managed to see Vietnam, Luang Prabang and Siem Reap without feeling exhausted, in a hurry or overwhelmed. They also picked great activities to do for a family vacation.

Visited April 2017

This review was originally posted on Trip Advisor

Tania LMexico

Diane S

“Look no more, Exotic Voyages Travel is all you need”

Two weeks in Thailand, Cambodia and then Hanoi proved to be without a doubt the most fantastic experience we’ve ever had. The tours provided were direct, concise and the guides experienced and wonderful. Our Thailand guide and driver became more like family than tour guides. Their knowledge of Thailand was extensive, the sites we saw impeccable and the food and lodging was absolutely outstanding. We were cared for 100% and never felt alone or out of touch in a strange country. Cambodia was only three days, but the palace, killing fields and Siem Riep with Angkor Wat were beyond magnificent.
Our trip to Hanoi included a small tour of the old city, and then an overnight boat trip to Halong Bay. This was truly one of the seven wonders of the world and the ship was spectacular, safe and clean.
If you get a chance book with Exotic Voyages, they are truly the best at what they do. Mai Phuong and Linh Nguyen took meticulous care of details and costs and got back to me in a timely fashion to every question I had, which in itself was a feat. We are beyond 100% happy with this company and their people.

Visited March 2017

This review was originally posted on Trip Advisor

Diane SLancaster, Ohio, United States

Brenton Sellati

“Amazing travel consulting company”

I write this review the morning after returning from a fantastic and highly memorable 12 day / 11 night trip to Vietnam and Cambodia planned and supported by Exotic Voyages. I was incredibly impressed by this company. I would use them again, and plan to recommend them to all of my friends and family. So what made the experience great? Let me count the ways…

1. Trip Planning & Communication: I was matched with a travel planner named Andy, a British ex-pat who has been living in Vietnam for over 10 years. He was a fabulous travel consultant, and spent considerable time helping me fine tune my itinerary (over the course of 4-5 weeks) before I ever made a down payment. Even after I placed my deposit, he continued to be prompt and helpful with the various follow-up questions that I peppered him with in the months leading up to the trip. A few weeks before departure, he sent over Exotic Voyage’s Country Guides for Vietnam and Cambodia, which were extremely helpful in setting our expectations for things like cultural no-no’s, tipping norms, how to avoid gastro/intestinal issues, etc. This trip was a birthday gift for my wife, and Andy was instrumental in helping me set up some “Easter Egg” surprises along the way, such as a romantic candle light dinner upon arrival to our hotel on the day of my wife’s birthday. The staff at the hotel knew it was her birthday and greeted us with a dessert and song, followed by a complimentary upgrade to the royal suite. After we freshened up in the room, we walked back to the beautiful infinity pool where they staff had rapidly set up a romantic candle night table for us to enjoy a fantastic dinner. I could never have coordinated this without Andy’s help!

2. Travel Logistics: Exotic Voyages was completely on-top of managing all logistics for our trip. We arrived in Hanoi and within 3 minutes of disembarking found someone holding a sign with our names to assist with our entry visas. From there, we met our local guide and driver, and traveled in a nice Toyota SUV to our hotel. As we moved around the country, we always had high quality drivers, vehicles, and guides (more on the guides below) who were always on time and made is feel completely safe. We had 3 domestic flights during our trip, and in 2 cases our flights were delayed 24 hrs before we left for the airport. Exotic Voyages monitored out flights, identified the delays, and worked with our guides to ensure we would get to the airport at the right time for drop-off / pick-up. Whenever possible, our guides would walk us into the airport an assist with ticketing and to ensure we were all set. It was always easy to find our guides at the airport, as they had custom signs with Exotic Voyage’s branding on them.

3. Local Guides: One of the most important elements of your trip is the quality of the local guides you are matched with. You spend anywhere from 5-10 hours a day with your guides, and in our case had several 3+ hour car rides together. If you don’t have awesome guides, you will feel it. We did not have that problem. We shook hands with our guides when we met them, and by the time we left them were giving them hugs. They truly became friends AND guides during our short time together. I can’t stress enough how impressed we were by these guides (shout outs to Thanh, Sarah, and Ran!). Exotic Voyages proved to me they have the ability to consistently deliver exceptionally good guides. I can emphasize the importance of this enough.

4. Experiences: All of the activities Exotic Voyages recommended were great, and a handful were truly exceptional. I’ll discuss these more below, but there were 3-4 activities that EV booked for us where we were the only westerners / tourists around. As SE Asia becomes more saturated with visitors, I believe it’s critical to work with a travel company that can help you still find those magical experiences away from the crowd. EV totally delivered here, and we would never have been able to find or plan these activities without them.
What were the most enjoyable or memorable parts of your trip?
As noted above, there were 3 special activities that EV helped to coordinate that really made an impression on my wife and I.

1) In the city of Hue, after visiting the ancient capital of the Nguyen dynasty, we drove through windy, narrow streets to the house of an ancient Mandarin (member of the royal court). We met the owner of the home, whose great grandfather had been a Mandarin, and he gave us a tour of the grounds (which featured multiple open-air buildings) and told us about how each was deliberately designed according to Fung Shui principles. Then, we had a private lunch in the guest house with delicious food and selection of beer and BOTTLES of wine of our choice, all already paid for by our Exotic Voyages package.

2) In Siem Reap, Cambodia, after visiting Angkor Wat and surrounding temples, we drove about 20 minutes into the country where we went down a very long, very bumpy dirt road (our driver actually missed it the first time) until we reached a hidden Buddhist temple. We had an amazing foot massage and delicious picnic lunch in the shade of tall trees outside the temple, which we then explored after lunch. There weren’t any other tourists around for miles. Truly a magical and memorable experience. One of my lasting memories will be lying on the picnic blanket looking up into the trees and listening to them rustle in the wind with complete quiet all around.

3) Also in Siem Reap, we ventured deep into the country side by boat to visit a bird sanctuary. We passed through a floating village, which is home to some of Cambodia’s poorest (and friendliest) residents, and changed from our transit boat to a tiny fishing boat with local villager guides (our main guide stayed with us as well). We then ventured deep into the bird sanctuary, where we saw thousands of sea birds including pelicans, storks, herons, and many other varieties I can’t name. As we rode through the marsh, our boat would send birds into flight from the surrounding reeds and we saw huge flocks take flight. In the middle of the marsh, we disembarked to climb a bamboo-and-rope ladder / staircase built by the villagers to reach a small platform at the top of a large tree (harrowing, but fun for us). Once on top of the tree, we were treated to beautiful 360 views of the sanctuary, along with a telescope to view the bird’s breeding grounds. As we headed back to town, we saw hundreds of birds swirling around thermal air columns, at one point passing right over our heads.

Visited March 2017

This review was originally posted on Trip Advisor

Brenton SellatiFramingham, Massachusetts, US

Page 1 of 1312345...10...Last »